The judicial administration consists of the independent courts of law, prosecution service, enforcement authorities, who see to the enforcement of judgments, The Criminal Sanctions Agency, who sees to the enforcement of custodial sentences, and Bar Association and the other avenues of legal aid.

The competent unit within the judicial system can be searched by the name of the municipality on the contact information page.

With the name of the municipality, you can identify the competent

  • district court
  • court of appeal
  • administrative court
  • prosecution unit
  • enforcement unit and
  • public guardianship offices,

as well as nearest state legal aid office.

A customer may approach any of the legal aid offices; it is often convenient to use the services of the nearest one.

As of 1 January 2019, financial and debt counselling services are provided by the state legal aid offices.

Some types of matter have been assigned to only a few district courts. Please see the separate lists of municipalities for land court matters, enforcement appeals and corporate restructurings. These lists are available only in Finnish.

Published 2.1.2019